Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
(a-1) Effective January 1, 2011, the minimum amounts of motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required to establish financial responsibility under this chapter are:
(1) $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident;
(2) $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident, subject to the amount provided by Subdivision (1) for bodily injury to or death of one of the persons; and
(3) $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident.
(b) The coverage required under this section may exclude, with respect to one accident:
(1) the first $250 of liability for bodily injury to or death of one person;
(2) the first $500 of liability for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, subject to the amount provided by Subdivision (1) for bodily injury to or death of one of the persons; and
(3) the first $250 of liability for property damage to or destruction of property of others.
(c) The Texas Department of Insurance shall establish an outreach program to inform persons of the requirements of this chapter and the ability to comply with the financial responsibility requirements of this chapter through motor vehicle liability insurance coverage. The commissioner, by rule, shall establish the requirements for the program. The program must be designed to encourage compliance with the financial responsibility requirements, and must be made available in English and Spanish.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Texas Transportation Code - TRANSP § 601.072. Minimum Coverage Amounts; Exclusions - last updated April 14, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/tx/transportation-code/transp-sect-601-072.html
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.