Texas Transportation Code - TRANSP § 545.416. Riding on Motorcycle
Search Texas Statutes
(a) An operator of a motorcycle shall ride on the permanent and regular seat attached to the motorcycle.
(b) An operator may not carry another person on the motorcycle, and a person who is not operating the motorcycle may not ride on the motorcycle, unless the motorcycle is:
(1) designed to carry more than one person; and
(2) equipped with footrests and handholds for use by the passenger.
(c) If the motorcycle is designed to carry more than one person, a passenger may ride only on the permanent and regular seat, if designed for two persons, or on another seat firmly attached to the motorcycle behind or to the side of the operator.
(d) Except as provided by Subsection (e), an operator may not carry another person on a motorcycle unless the other person is at least five years of age. An offense under this subsection is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $200. It is a defense to prosecution under this subsection that the operator was operating the motorcycle in an emergency or for a law enforcement purpose.
(e) Subsection (d) does not prohibit an operator from carrying on a motorcycle a person younger than five years of age who is seated in a sidecar attached to the motorcycle.
(f) For purposes of Subsections (c) and (d), an autocycle as defined by Section 501.008 is considered to be a motorcycle.
Read this complete Texas Transportation Code - TRANSP § 545.416. Riding on Motorcycle on Westlaw
FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.