Skip to main content

Texas Occupations Code - OCC § 1601.256. Eligibility for Barber Technician License

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) A person holding a barber technician license may:

(1) perform only barbering as defined by Sections 1601.002(1)(C), (D), (F), and (G);  and

(2) practice only at a location that has been issued a barbershop permit.

(b) An applicant for a barber technician license must:

(1) be at least 16 years of age;

(2) have completed the seventh grade or the equivalent of the seventh grade;

(3) have completed a course of instruction in a commission-approved training program consisting of not less than 300 hours in a period of not less than eight weeks;  and

(4) submit the required fee with the application.

(c) The course of instruction described by Subsection (b)(3) must include the theory and practice of:

(1) laws governing the practice of barbering in this state;

(2) hygienic bacteriology;

(3) histology of the skin, muscles, and nerves;

(4) the structure of the head, neck, and face;

(5) elementary chemistry relating to sterilization and antiseptics;

(6) common disorders of the skin;

(7) massage and manipulation of the muscles of the scalp, face, and neck;

(8) shampooing;

(9) the administration of facial treatments;

(10) the preparation of patrons and making of appointments;  and

(11) any other services within the scope of barbering under Subsection (a).

(d) The department shall issue a barber technician license to an applicant who:

(1) possesses the qualifications described by Subsection (b);

(2) passes the appropriate examination;

(3) pays the required license fee;  and

(4) has not committed an act that is a ground for denial of a license.

Cite this article: - Texas Occupations Code - OCC § 1601.256. Eligibility for Barber Technician License - last updated April 14, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard