Texas Government Code - GOV'T § 662.003. Dates and Descriptions of Holidays

(a) A national holiday includes only the following days:

(1) the first day of January, “New Year's Day”;

(2) the third Monday in January, “Martin Luther King, Jr., Day” in observance of the birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.;

(3) the third Monday in February, “Presidents' Day”;

(4) the last Monday in May, “Memorial Day”;

(5) the fourth day of July, “Independence Day”;

(6) the first Monday in September, “Labor Day”;

(7) the 11th day of November, “Veterans Day,” dedicated to the cause of world peace and to honoring the veterans of all wars in which Texans and other Americans have fought;

(8) the fourth Thursday in November, “Thanksgiving Day”;  and

(9) the 25th day of December, “Christmas Day.”

(b) A state holiday includes only the following days:

(1) the 19th day of January, “Confederate Heroes Day,” in honor of Jefferson Davis, Robert E. Lee, and other Confederate heroes;

(2) the second day of March, “Texas Independence Day”;

(3) the 21st day of April, “San Jacinto Day”;

(4) the 19th day of June, “Emancipation Day in Texas,” in honor of the emancipation of the slaves in Texas in 1865;

(5) the 27th day of August, “Lyndon Baines Johnson Day,” in observance of the birthday of Lyndon Baines Johnson;

(6) the Friday after Thanksgiving Day;

(7) the 24th day of December;  and

(8) the 26th day of December.

(c) An “optional holiday” includes only the days on which Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, or Good Friday falls.

FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard