Rhode Island General Laws Title 23. Health and Safety § 23-17.8-10. Penalties

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) Any person who knowingly commits any act of abuse, as that term is defined by § 23-17.8-1(a)(1)(i), (ii), (iii), or (iv), mistreatment, or neglect against a patient or resident of a facility shall be fined not more than three thousand dollars ($3,000) or imprisoned not more than three (3) years, or both.

(b) Any person who commits any act of abuse as that term is defined by § 23-17.8-1(a)(1)(v) against a patient or resident of a facility shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars ($500) or imprisoned not more than one year, or both.

(c) If at the time of the alleged patient abuse, neglect or mistreatment, the person committing the act was employed by a facility which either condoned or attempted to conceal the act or acts, that facility upon conviction shall be fined not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000).

(d) Any member of the board of directors or a high managerial agent of a facility who condones or conceals any acts of abuse, neglect or mistreatment of patients or residents of the facility shall be fined not more than three thousand dollars ($3,000) or imprisoned not more than three (3) years, or both.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Rhode Island General Laws Title 23. Health and Safety § 23-17.8-10. Penalties - last updated January 01, 2019 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ri/title-23-health-and-safety/ri-gen-laws-sect-23-17-8-10.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard