Nevada Revised Statutes Title 20. Counties and Townships: Formation, Government and Officers § 244.3485. Secondhand dealers: Licensing; fines for certain violations
Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
Search Nevada Revised Statutes
Search by Keyword or Citation
1. The board of county commissioners of each county shall, by ordinance, require each person who wishes to engage in the business of a secondhand dealer in an unincorporated area of the county to obtain a license issued by the board before the person engages in the business of a secondhand dealer.
2. The ordinance must require the applicant to submit:
(a) An application for a license to the board of county commissioners in a form prescribed by the board.
(b) With his or her application a complete set of his or her fingerprints and written permission authorizing the board to forward those fingerprints to the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for its report.
3. The board of county commissioners shall not issue a license pursuant to this section to an applicant who has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill or nolo contendere to, a felony involving moral turpitude or related to the qualifications, functions or duties of a secondhand dealer.
4. The board of county commissioners may:
(a) Establish and collect a fee for the issuance or renewal of a license;
(b) Establish and collect a fee to cover the costs of the investigation of an applicant, including a fee to process the fingerprints of the applicant;
(c) Place conditions, limitations or restrictions upon the license;
(d) Establish any other requirements necessary to carry out the provisions of this section; or
(e) Enact an ordinance which covers the same or similar subject matter included in the provisions of NRS 647.140 and which provides that any person who violates any provision of that ordinance shall be punished:
(1) For the first offense, by a fine of not more than $500.
(2) For the second offense, by a fine of not more than $1,000.
(3) For the third offense, by a fine of not more than $2,000 and by revocation of the license of the secondhand dealer.
5. As used in this section, “secondhand dealer” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 647.018.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Nevada Revised Statutes Title 20. Counties and Townships: Formation, Government and Officers § 244.3485. Secondhand dealers: Licensing; fines for certain violations - last updated January 01, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nv/title-20-counties-and-townships-formation-government-and-officers/nv-rev-st-244-3485.html
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.
Was this helpful?