New Jersey Statutes Title 54A. New Jersey Gross Income Tax Act 54A § 9-4

(a) General.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, any tax under this act shall be assessed within 3 years after the return was filed (whether or not such return was filed on or after the date prescribed).

(b) Time return deemed filed.

(1) Early return.  For purposes of this section a return of income tax, except withholding tax, filed before the last day prescribed by law or by regulations promulgated pursuant to law for the filing thereof, shall be deemed to be filed on such last day.

(2) Return of withholding tax.  For purposes of this section, if a return of withholding tax for any period ending with or within a calendar year is filed before April 15 of the succeeding calendar year, such return shall be deemed to be filed on April 15 of such succeeding calendar year.

(c) Exceptions.

(1) Assessment at any time.  The tax may be assessed at any time if--

(A) No return is filed,

(B) A false or fraudulent return is filed with intent to evade tax, or

(C) The taxpayer fails to comply with section 54A:8-7 , in not reporting a change or correction increasing his Federal taxable income as reported on his Federal income tax return, or in not reporting a change or correction which is treated in the same manner as if it were a deficiency for Federal income tax purposes, or in not filing an amended return.

(2) Extension by agreement.  Where, before the expiration of the time prescribed in this section for the assessment of tax, both the director and the taxpayer have consented in writing to its assessment after such time, the tax may be assessed at any time prior to the expiration of the period agreed upon.  The period so agreed upon may be extended by subsequent agreements in writing made before the expiration of the period previously agreed upon.

(3) Report of changed or corrected Federal income.  If the taxpayer shall, pursuant to section 54A:8-7 , report a change or correction or file an amended return increasing his Federal taxable income or report a change or correction which is treated in the same manner as if it were a deficiency for Federal income tax purposes, the assessment (if not deemed to have been made upon the filing of the report or amended return) may be made at any time within 2 years after such report or amended return was filed.  The amount of such assessment of tax shall not exceed the amount of the increase in New Jersey tax attributable to such Federal change or correction.  The provisions of this paragraph shall not affect the time within which or the amount for which an assessment may otherwise be made.

(4) Recovery of erroneous refund.  An erroneous refund shall be considered an underpayment of tax on the date made, and an assessment of a deficiency arising out of an erroneous refund may be made at any time within 3 years from the making of the refund, except that the assessment may be made within 5 years from the making of the refund if it appears that any part of the refund was induced by fraud or misrepresentation of a material fact.

(5) Request for prompt assessment.  If a return is required for a decedent or for his estate during the period of administration, the tax shall be assessed within 18 months after written request therefor (made after the return is filed) by the executor, administrator or other person representing the estate of such decedent, but not more than 3 years after the return was filed, except as otherwise provided in this subsection and subsection (d).

(d) Omission of income on return.  The tax may be assessed at any time within 6 years after the return was filed if--

(1) An individual omits from his New Jersey income an amount properly includible therein which is in excess of 25% of the amount of New Jersey income stated in the return;  or

(2) An estate or trust omits income from its return in an amount in excess of 25% of its income determined as if it were an individual, computing his New Jersey income under this act.

For purposes of this subsection there shall not be taken into account any amount which is omitted in the return if such amount is disclosed in the return, or in a statement attached to the return, in a manner adequate to apprise the director of the nature and amount of such item.

(e) Suspension of running of period of limitation.  The running of the period of limitations on assessment or collection of tax or other amount (or of a transferee's liability) shall, after the mailing of a notice of deficiency, be suspended for the period during which the director is prohibited under subsection (c) of section 54A:9-2 from making the assessment or from collecting by levy.


FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.