a. No person under the age of 18 years shall purchase, barter or otherwise acquire a firearm and no person under the age of 21 years shall purchase, barter or otherwise acquire a handgun, unless the person is authorized to possess the handgun in connection with the performance of official duties under the provisions of N.J.S.2C:39-6 .
b. No person under the age of 18 years shall possess, carry, fire or use a firearm except as provided under paragraphs (1), (2), (3) and (4) of this subsection; and, unless authorized in connection with the performance of official duties under the provisions of N.J.S.2C:39-6 , no person under the age of 21 years shall possess, carry, fire or use a handgun except under the following circumstances:
(1) In the actual presence or under the direct supervision of his father, mother or guardian, or some other person who holds a permit to carry a handgun or a firearms purchaser identification card, as the case may be; or
(2) For the purpose of military drill under the auspices of a legally recognized military organization and under competent supervision; or
(3) For the purpose of competition, target practice, instruction, and training in and upon a firing range approved by the governing body of the municipality in which the range is located or the National Rifle Association and which is under competent supervision at the time of such supervision or target practice or instruction and training at any location; or
(4) For the purpose of hunting during the regularly designated hunting season, provided that he possesses a valid hunting license and has successfully completed a hunter's safety course taught by a qualified instructor or conservation police officer and possesses a certificate indicating the successful completion of such a course.
c. A person who violates this section shall be guilty of a crime of the fourth degree. For purposes of this section the fact that the act would not constitute a crime if committed by an adult shall not be deemed to prohibit or require waiver of family court jurisdiction pursuant to N.J.S.2C:4-11 or to preclude a finding of delinquency under the “New Jersey Code of Juvenile Justice,” P.L.1982, c. 77 ( C.2A:4A-20 et seq. ), P.L.1982, c. 79 ( C.2A:4A-60 et seq. ), P.L.1982, c. 80 ( C.2A:4A-76 et seq. ) and P.L.1982, c. 81 ( C.2A:4A-70 et seq. ).
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - New Jersey Statutes Title 2C. The New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice 2C § 58-6.1 - last updated February 19, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nj/title-2c-the-new-jersey-code-of-criminal-justice/nj-st-sect-2c-58-6-1.html
FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.