New Jersey Statutes Title 2A. Administration of Civil and Criminal Justice 2A § 50-58




a. (1) If a plaintiff's action to foreclose a residential mortgage is uncontested, pursuant to R.4:64-1(a) of the Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey and the plaintiff chooses not to use the optional procedure for the disposition of foreclosed premises pursuant to section 11 of this act,  1 a lender shall apply for entry of final judgment and provide the debtor with a notice, mailed at least 14 calendar days prior to the submission of proper proofs for entry of a foreclosure judgment, providing the debtor with the name and address of the lender and the telephone number of a representative of the lender whom the debtor may contact to obtain the amount required to cure the default, and advising that, absent a response from the debtor pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection a., proper proofs will be submitted for entry of final judgment in the foreclosure action and that upon entry of final judgment, the debtor shall lose the right, provided pursuant to section 5 of this act,  2 to cure the default.  The lender shall attach a copy of the required 14-day notice to the application for final judgment.  The manner and address for mailing and the effective date of the notice shall be the same as set forth in subsection b. of section 4 of this act.  3

(2) A debtor may, no later than 10 days after receipt of the notice required pursuant to subsection a. of this section, mail to the lender a statement in which the debtor in good faith certifies as true that there is a reasonable likelihood that the debtor will be able to provide payment necessary to cure the default within 45 days of the date the notice required pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection a. became effective.  This statement shall be sent registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of the lender who gave notice as required pursuant to subsection a. of this section.

(3) A lender who receives a statement sent by the debtor pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection a., shall not submit proper proofs for entry of final judgment in foreclosure with a return date earlier than 46 days after the date the notice required pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection a. became effective.

b. (1) If a plaintiff's action to foreclose a residential mortgage is uncontested, pursuant to R.4:64-1(a) of the Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey and the lender chooses to use the optional procedure for the disposition of the foreclosed premises pursuant to section 11 of this act, the lender shall provide the debtor with a notice, mailed at least 14 calendar days prior to filing an affidavit or certification with the office or court pursuant to subsection f. of section 11 of this act.  The notice shall provide the debtor with the name and address of the lender and the telephone number of a representative of the lender whom the debtor may contact to obtain the amount required to cure the default, and advise the debtor that, absent a response from the debtor pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection b., the lender shall file an affidavit or certification with the office or court requesting the office or court to enter an order of redemption and that upon the entry of the order of redemption the debtor shall lose the right provided pursuant to section 5 of this act, to cure the default.  The lender shall attach a copy of the required 14-day notice to the affidavit or certification for filing with the office or court requesting the office or court to enter an order of redemption.The manner and address for mailing and the effective date of the notice shall be the same as set forth in subsection b. of section 4 of this act.

(2) A debtor may, no later than 10 days after receipt of the notice required pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection b., mail to the lender a statement in which the debtor in good faith certifies as true that there is a reasonable likelihood that the debtor will be able to provide payment necessary to cure the default within 45 days of the date the notice required pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection b. became effective.  This statement shall be sent registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of the lender who gave notice as required pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection b.

(3) A lender who receives a statement sent by the debtor pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection b., shall not file an affidavit or certification with the office or court earlier than 46 days after the date the notice required pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection b. became effective.

1 N.J.S.A. § 2A:50-63.
2 N.J.S.A. § 2A:50-57.
3 N.J.S.A. § 2A:50-56.




Read this complete New Jersey Statutes Title 2A. Administration of Civil and Criminal Justice 2A § 50-58 on Westlaw

FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.