Skip to main content

New Jersey Statutes Title 18A. Education 18A § 36-25.1

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

a.?When a child is enrolled in a school district for the first time, the superintendent shall require the child's parent or legal guardian to provide a certified copy of the child's birth certificate or other proof of the child's identity, within 30 days of enrollment. ?If the child's parent or legal guardian refuses to comply with the requirement in this section, the superintendent shall notify the parent or guardian, in writing, that the matter will be referred to a law enforcement agency if the proof of identity is not provided within 10 days of the notice.

b.?When a child transfers from one school district to another, the receiving school district shall obtain the child's school record from the district from which the child has transferred, within 14 days of enrollment. ?The school district of last attendance shall provide to the receiving district all information in the child's record related to disciplinary actions taken against the child by the district and notify the receiving district if it has obtained any information pursuant to section 1 of P.L. 1982, c. 79 (C.2A:4A-60). ?Written consent of the parent or adult pupil shall not be required as a condition of transfer of this information; ?however, written notice of the transfer shall be provided to the parent or adult pupil. ?If the record has been marked pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1995, c. 395 (C.52:17B-9.8b), the transferring school district shall forward the record to the receiving school district and immediately notify the Missing Persons Unit in the Department of Law and Public Safety established pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1983, c. 467 (C.52:17B-9.7).

Cite this article: - New Jersey Statutes Title 18A. Education 18A § 36-25.1 - last updated February 19, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard