Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
(a) Any person age 17 or older may apply to the Board for registration as an apprentice. Each applicant must be sponsored by a Registered Sponsor.
(b) Upon receiving an application accompanied by a fee in an amount set by the Board, not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100.00), the Board may register the applicant as an apprentice, which shall entitle the applicant to fit and sell hearing aids under the supervision of Registered Sponsor.
(c) No applicant shall be registered as an apprentice by the Board under this section unless the applicant shows to the satisfaction of the Board that the applicant is or will be supervised and trained by a Registered Sponsor.
(d) If a person 18 years of age or older who is registered as an apprentice under this section does not take the next succeeding examination given after a minimum of one full year of apprenticeship, the person's apprentice registration shall not be renewed, except for good cause shown to the satisfaction of the Board.
(e) If a person who is registered as an apprentice takes and fails to pass the next succeeding examination given after one full year of apprenticeship, the Board may renew the apprenticeship license for a period of time to end 30 days after the results of the examination given next after the date of renewal of said registration. The fee for renewal of apprenticeship registration shall be set by the Board at an amount not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00).
(f) The Board shall adopt rules implementing initial and renewal registration of apprentices.
(g) The Board shall adopt rules implementing initial and renewal registration of Registered Sponsors.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 93D. North Carolina State Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board § 93D-9. Registration of apprentices - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nc/chapter-93d-north-carolina-state-hearing-aid-dealers-and-fitters-board/nc-gen-st-sect-93d-9.html
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.