Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
(a) No person shall undertake any activity within the scope of practice of a hearing aid specialist in this State unless the person first has been issued a license by the Board or is an apprentice working under the supervision of a Registered Sponsor. Except as hereinafter provided, each applicant for a license shall pay a fee set by the Board, not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00), which fee may be prorated by the Board, and shall show to the satisfaction of the Board that the applicant:
(1) Is a person of good moral character.
(2) Is 18 years of age or older.
(3) Has an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high school.
(4) Repealed by S.L. 2007-406, § 3, eff. Aug. 21, 2007.
(b) Except as hereinafter provided, no license shall be issued to a person until he has successfully passed a qualifying examination administered by the Board.
(c) No license shall be issued to any person until the person has served as an apprentice as set forth in G.S. 93D-9 for a period of at least one year; provided, that the one-year apprenticeship requirement shall be waived for the following:
(1) Persons qualified under G.S. 93D-6.
(2) Persons holding a permanent license as an audiologist under Article 22 of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes.
(3) Persons holding a temporary license as an audiologist under Article 22 of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes who have undergone 250 hours of supervised activity fitting or selling hearing aids under the direct supervision of a Registered Sponsor.
(4) Persons continuously licensed to fit or sell hearing aids in another state or jurisdiction for the preceding three years.
(5) Persons who have worked full-time for one year in the office of and under the direct supervision of an otolaryngologist fitting or selling hearing aids.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 93D. North Carolina State Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board § 93D-5. Requirements for registration; examinations; licenses - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nc/chapter-93d-north-carolina-state-hearing-aid-dealers-and-fitters-board/nc-gen-st-sect-93d-5.html
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.