North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 90B. Social Worker Certification and Licensure Act § 90B-9. Renewal of certificates and licenses

<Text of section eff. until Jan. 1, 2021.  See, also, section eff. Jan. 1, 2021.>

(a) All certificates and licenses shall be effective upon date of issuance by the Board, and shall be renewed on or before the second June 30 thereafter.

(b) All certificates and licenses issued hereunder shall be renewed at the times and in the manner provided by this section.  At least 45 days prior to expiration of each certificate or license, the Board shall mail a notice and application for renewal to the certificate holder or licensee.  Prior to the expiration date, the application shall be returned properly completed, together with a renewal fee established by the Board pursuant to G.S. 90B-6.2(a)(4) and evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements established by the Board pursuant to G.S. 90B-6(g) , upon receipt of which the Board shall renew the certificate or license.  If a certificate or license is not renewed on or before the expiration date, an additional fee shall be charged for late renewal as provided in G.S. 90B-6.2(a)(5) .

(c) A certificate or license issued under this Chapter shall be automatically suspended for failure to renew for a period of more than 60 days after the renewal date.  The Board may reinstate a certificate or license suspended under this subsection upon payment of a reinstatement fee as provided in G.S. 90B-6.2(a)(6) and may require that the applicant file a new application, furnish new supervisory reports or references or otherwise update his or her credentials, or submit to examination for reinstatement.  The Board shall have exclusive jurisdiction to investigate alleged violations of this Chapter by any person whose certificate or license has been suspended under this subsection and, upon proof of any violation of this Chapter, the Board may take disciplinary action as provided in G.S. 90B-11 .

(d) Any person certified or licensed and desiring to retire temporarily from the practice of social work shall send written notice thereof to the Board.  Upon receipt of such notice, his or her name shall be placed upon the nonpracticing list and he or she shall not be subject to payment of renewal fees while temporarily retired.  In order to reinstate certification or licensure, the person shall apply to the Board by making a request for reinstatement and paying the appropriate fee as provided in G.S. 90B-6.2 .

Cite this article: - North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 90B. Social Worker Certification and Licensure Act § 90B-9. Renewal of certificates and licenses - last updated January 01, 2020 |

FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard