North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 131F. Solicitation of Contributions § 131F-8. License fees

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) Required Fees.--Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c) of this section, every charitable organization or sponsor shall pay the following fees with each license application:

(1) Fifty dollars ($50.00), if the contributions received for the last fiscal year were less than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000).

(2) One hundred dollars ($100.00), if the contributions received for the last fiscal year were one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) or more, but less than two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000).

(3) Two hundred dollars ($200.00), if the contributions received for the last fiscal year were two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000) or more.

(b) Exemption.--A licensed charitable organization or sponsor that received less than five thousand dollars ($5,000) in the last calendar or fiscal year shall not pay a fee.

(c) Parent Organization.--A parent organization or association filing on behalf of one or more chapters, branches, members, or affiliates shall pay a single license fee for itself and its other chapters, branches, members, or affiliates.  These license fees shall be imposed as follows:

(1) One hundred dollars ($100.00) for a parent organization or association and one to five chapters, branches, members, or affiliates.

(2) Two hundred dollars ($200.00) for a parent organization or association and 6 to 10 chapters, branches, members, or affiliates.

(3) Two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for a parent organization or association and 11 to 15 chapters, branches, members, or affiliates.

(4) Four hundred dollars ($400.00) for a parent organization or association and 16 or more chapters, branches, members, or affiliates.

(d) Late Filing.--A charitable organization or sponsor which fails to file the renewal information by the due date may be assessed an additional fee for the late filing.  The late filing fee shall be established by rule of the Department and shall not exceed twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each month or part of a month after the date on which the information was due to be filed or after the period of extension granted for the filing.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 131F. Solicitation of Contributions § 131F-8. License fees - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nc/chapter-131f-solicitation-of-contributions/nc-gen-st-sect-131f-8.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard