Mississippi Code Title 63. Motor Vehicles & Traffic Regulations § 63-17-74. Prohibition from selling motor vehicle without title in seller’s name

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(1) It is unlawful for a person to sell a motor vehicle that is not titled and registered in the name of that person unless the person is:

(a) An heir, successor or assignee of the owner of the motor vehicle;

(b) A motor vehicle dealer licensed or permitted in the State of Mississippi to sell motor vehicles;

(c) A person selling a motor vehicle to a licensed used motor vehicle parts dealer or scrap metal processor in compliance with Section 63-21-39;

(d) A person selling a motor vehicle under the Mississippi Title Pledge Act;

(e) An insurance company or its authorized agent selling a motor vehicle that is the subject of an insurance claim;  or

(f) A finance company or bank selling a motor vehicle.

All local and state law enforcement agencies have jurisdiction to enforce this section.

(2) Any person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) per violation.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Mississippi Code Title 63. Motor Vehicles & Traffic Regulations § 63-17-74. Prohibition from selling motor vehicle without title in seller’s name - last updated January 01, 2018 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ms/title-63-motor-vehicles-traffic-regulations/ms-code-sect-63-17-74/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard