Mississippi Code Title 49. Conservation and Ecology § 49-8-5. Classification of inherently dangerous animals

The following wild animals are classed as animals inherently dangerous to humans:

(a) Order Primates:

(i) Family Pongidae (gibbons, orangutan, chimpanzees, siamangs and gorillas) -- all species;

(ii) Family Cercopithecidae:

A. Genus Macaca (macaques) -- all species;

B. Genus Papio (mandrills, drills and baboons) -- all species;

C. Theropithecus Gelada (Gelada baboon);

(b) Order Carnivora:

(i) Family Canidae:

A. Genus Canis (wolves, jackals and dingos;  all species, including crosses between wolves and domestic animals);

B. Chrysocyon brachyurus (maned wolf);

C. Cuon alpinus (red dog);

D. Lycaon pictus (African hunting dog);

(ii) Family Ursidae (bears) -- all species;

(iii) Family Mustelidae -- Gulo gulo (wolverine);

(iv) Family Hyaenidae (hyenas) -- all species;

(v) Family Felidae:

A. Genus Leo or Panthera or Neofelis (lions, tigers, jaguars and leopards) -- all species;

B. Unica unica (snow leopard);

C. Acinonyx jubatus (cheetah);

D. Felis concolor (cougar) -- all subspecies;

(c) Order Proboscidae:  Family Elephantidae (elephants) -- all species;

(d) Order Perissodactyla:  Family Rhinocerotidae (rhinoceroses) -- all species;

(e) Order Artiodactyla:

(ii) Family Hippopotamidae -- Hippopotamus amphibius (hippopotamus);

(ii) Family Bovidae:  Syncerus caffer (African buffalo).

FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard