Skip to main content

Mississippi Code Title 19. Counties and County Officers § 19-1-63. Jefferson

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

Jefferson County is bounded by beginning on the Mississippi River at the southwestern corner of Claiborne County, and thence along the southern boundary of Claiborne County to the Choctaw boundary line;  thence south with said boundary to where it crosses the line between townships seven and eight;  thence west on said township line to the basis meridian of the Washington district;  thence north on said meridian line to the northeast corner of Adams County, at a point due east from the point being the northeast corner of where Edmond Andrews' cotton gin once was;  thence due west to such point;  thence westerly in a direct line to what was known and called “George Selser's Spring,” on the south branch of Fairchild's creek;  thence down such south branch to Strover's mound, so-called;  thence westerly in a direct line to the upper side of Rose's old settlement, on the Mississippi River;  thence up said river to the beginning.  The county site is Fayette.

Cite this article: - Mississippi Code Title 19. Counties and County Officers § 19-1-63. Jefferson - last updated January 01, 2018 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard