Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 257. Motor Vehicles § 257.903

Sec. 903.  (1) A person who makes a false certification to a matter or thing required by the terms of this act to be certified, including but not limited to an application for any type of driver license, dealer license, vehicle certificate of title, vehicle registration, vehicle inspection, self-insurance, personal information, or commercial driver training school, is guilty of a felony.  A person who uses personal information for a purpose other than a permissible purpose identified in section 208c or 232  is guilty of a felony.

(2) A person who is convicted of a second violation of this section shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than 2 years or more than 7 years, or by a fine of not less than $1,500.00 or more than $7,000.00, or both.

(3) A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent violation of this section shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than 5 years or more than 15 years, or by a fine of not less than $5,000.00 or more than $15,000.00, or both.

1 M.C.L.A. § 257.208c or 257.232.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 257. Motor Vehicles § 257.903 - last updated February 09, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/mi/chapter-257-motor-vehicles/mi-comp-laws-257-903.html


FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard