Skip to main content

Maryland Code, Criminal Law § 8-108

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) A person may not pay a fine or cost imposed by a court by delivering a check issued by the person or another person if:

(1) the person knows that payment of the check has not been provided for;  and

(2) payment of the check is refused by the drawee on presentment.

(b) A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 60 days or a fine not exceeding $100 or both.

Cite this article: - Maryland Code, Criminal Law § 8-108 - last updated December 31, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard