Skip to main content

Maryland Code, Criminal Law § 6-104

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) This section applies to a violation involving property damage of $1,000 or more.

(b) A person may not willfully and maliciously set fire to or burn the personal property of another.

(c) A person who violates this section is guilty of the felony of malicious burning in the first degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both.

Cite this article: - Maryland Code, Criminal Law § 6-104 - last updated December 31, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard