Skip to main content

Maryland Code, Criminal Law § 3-609

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) Unless the death of a minor has already been reported to the appropriate law enforcement agency or medical authority, a parent or other person who has permanent care or custody or responsibility for the supervision of a minor shall report the death of the minor to the appropriate law enforcement agency or medical authority within 5 hours of becoming aware of the death.

(b) A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 3 years.

Cite this article: - Maryland Code, Criminal Law § 3-609 - last updated December 31, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard