Skip to main content

Maryland Code, Alcoholic Beverages § 26-2001

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) Unless otherwise provided in this title, from 2 a.m. to 6 a.m. on any day, an individual may not consume alcoholic beverages in a premises licensed under this title.

(b) An owner, an operator, or a manager of a premises licensed under this title or a holder of an on-sale license may not allow alcoholic beverages to be consumed on the premises licensed under this title:

(1) from 2 a.m. to 6 a.m.;  or

(2) if the holder may sell alcoholic beverages under § 26-2005 of this subtitle, from 3 a.m. to 6 a.m.

(c)(1) An individual found consuming alcoholic beverages on the premises or in a place during the hours prohibited under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $50.

(2) An owner, a manager, or an employee of a premises or place who knowingly allows consumption during the hours prohibited under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 2 years or both.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Maryland Code, Alcoholic Beverages § 26-2001 - last updated December 31, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/md/alcoholic-beverages/md-code-al-bev-sect-26-2001/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard