Indiana Code Title 36. Local Government § 36-8-3.5-6

Sec. 6 . (a) A merit commission consisting of five (5) commissioners shall be established for each department of a unit having a merit system.  The commissioners are:

(1) two (2) persons, who must be of different political parties, appointed by the unit's executive;

(2) one (1) person appointed by the unit's legislative body;  and

(3) two (2) persons, who must be of different political parties, elected by the active members of the department.

Notwithstanding IC 36-1-8-10 , political affiliation shall be determined through the voters' registration records of the three (3) most recent primary elections.

(b) Each commissioner must have been a legal resident of the unit for three (3) consecutive years immediately preceding the commissioner's term and must be a person of good moral character.  The legislative body may, upon the recommendation of the safety board, determine a per diem to be paid to each commissioner for each day of actual service for the commission.  A commissioner must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age.  A commissioner may not be an active member of a police or fire department or agency and not more than two (2) of the commissioners may be past members of a police or fire department or agency.  In addition, a person may not serve on the commission if the person receives any remuneration as salary from the unit.

(c) Each commissioner shall take an oath of office to conscientiously discharge the commissioner's duties.  A signed copy of the oath shall be filed with the safety board.

FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.