Skip to main content

Indiana Code Title 16. Health § 16-37-1-9

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

Sec. 9. (a)?A local health department may make a charge under IC 16-20-1-27 for each certificate of birth, death, or stillbirth registration. ?IC 5-14-3-8(d) does not apply to the health department making a charge for a certificate of birth, death, or stillbirth registration under IC 16-20-1-27.

(b)?If the local department of health makes a charge for a certificate of death under subsection (a), the coroners continuing education fee described in subsection (e) must be added to the rate established under IC 16-20-1-27. ?The local department of health shall deposit any coroners continuing education fees with the county auditor within thirty (30) days after collection. ?The county auditor shall transfer semiannually any coroners continuing education fees to the treasurer of state.

(c)?Notwithstanding IC 16-20-1-27, a charge may not be made for furnishing a certificate of birth, death, or stillbirth registration to a person or to a member of the family of a person who needs the certificate for one (1) of the following purposes:

(1)?To establish the person's age or the dependency of a member of the person's family in connection with:

(A)?the person's service in the armed forces of the United States; ?or

(B)?a death pension or disability pension of a person who is serving or has served in the armed forces of the United States.

(2)?To establish or to verify the age of a child in school who desires to secure a work permit.

(d)?Notwithstanding IC 16-20-1-27, a charge may not be made for furnishing a certificate of birth to an individual who represents, pursuant to IC 31-36-3-4(b), a homeless youth (as defined in IC 31-36-3-4) and presents a fee and consent waiver affidavit described in IC 31-36-3-4(c).

(e)?The coroners continuing education fee is:

(1)?one dollar and seventy-five cents ($1.75) after June 30, 2007, and before July 1, 2013;

(2)?two dollars ($2) after June 30, 2013, and before July 1, 2018;

(3)?two dollars and twenty-five cents ($2.25) after June 30, 2018, and before July 1, 2023;

(4)?two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) after June 30, 2023, and before July 1, 2028;

(5)?two dollars and seventy-five cents ($2.75) after June 30, 2028, and before July 1, 2033;

(6)?three dollars ($3) after June 30, 2033, and before July 1, 2038;

(7)?three dollars and twenty-five cents ($3.25) after June 30, 2038, and before July 1, 2043; ?and

(8)?three dollars and fifty cents ($3.50) after June 30, 2043.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Indiana Code Title 16. Health § 16-37-1-9 - last updated June 08, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/in/title-16-health/in-code-sect-16-37-1-9.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard