Illinois Statutes Chapter 705. Courts § 505/22-1. Actions for personal injuries;  notice;  contents




§ 22-1.  Within 1 year from the date that such an injury was received or such a cause of action accrued, any person who is about to commence any action in the Court of Claims against the State of Illinois, the Medical Center Commission, the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois, the Board of Trustees of Southern Illinois University, the Board of Trustees of Chicago State University, the Board of Trustees of Eastern Illinois University, the Board of Trustees of Governors State University, the Board of Trustees of Illinois State University, the Board of Trustees of Northeastern Illinois University, the Board of Trustees of Northern Illinois University, the Board of Trustees of Western Illinois University, or the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, for damages on account of any injury to his person shall file in the office of the Attorney General and also in the office of the Clerk of the Court of Claims, either by himself, his agent, or attorney, giving the name of the person to whom the cause of action has accrued, the name and residence of the person injured, the date and about the hour of the accident, the place or location where the accident occurred, a brief description of how the accident occurred, and the name and address of the attending physician, if any, except as otherwise provided by the Crime Victims Compensation Act.  1

In actions for death by wrongful act, neglect or default, the executor of the estate, or in the event there is no will, the administrator or other personal representative of the decedent, shall file within 1 year of the date of death or the date that the executor or administrator is qualified, whichever occurs later, in the office of the Attorney General and also in the office of the Clerk of the Court of Claims, giving the name of the person to whom the cause of action has accrued, the name and last residence of the decedent, the date of the accident causing death, the date of the decedent's demise, the place or location where the accident causing the death occurred, the date and about the hour of the accident, a brief description of how the accident occurred, and the names and addresses of the attending physician and treating hospital if any, except as otherwise provided by the Crime Victims Compensation Act.

A claimant is not required to file the notice required by this Section if he or she files his or her claim within one year of its accrual.

1 740 ILCS 45/1 et seq.




Read this complete Illinois Statutes Chapter 705. Courts § 505/22-1. Actions for personal injuries;  notice;  contents on Westlaw

FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.