Skip to main content

Hawaii Revised Statutes Division 1. Government § 249-31. State registration fee

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a)?All vehicles and motor vehicles in the State as defined in section 249-1, including antique motor vehicles, except as otherwise provided in sections 249-4, 249-6, and 249-31.5, shall be subject to a $45 annual vehicle registration fee. ?The fee shall be paid each year together with all other taxes and fees levied by this chapter on a staggered basis as established by each county as authorized by section 286-51, and the state registration for that county shall likewise be staggered so that the state registration fee is due and payable at the same time and shall be collected together with the county fee. ?The state registration fee shall be deemed delinquent if not paid with the county registration fee. ?The respective counties shall collect this fee together with the vehicle registration tax collected for the county and shall transfer the moneys collected under this section to the State.

(b)?From each annual motor vehicle registration fee, the director shall deposit $40 into the state highway fund and $5 into the emergency medical services special fund.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Hawaii Revised Statutes Division 1. Government § 249-31. State registration fee - last updated January 01, 2019 | https://codes.findlaw.com/hi/division-1-government/hi-rev-st-sect-249-31.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard