Florida Statutes Title XLVI. Crimes § 775.0835. Fines;  surcharges;  Crimes Compensation Trust Fund

(1) When any person pleads guilty or nolo contendere to, or is convicted of, any felony or misdemeanor under the laws of this state which resulted in the injury or death of another person, the court may, if it finds that the defendant has the present ability to pay the fine and finds that the impact of the fine upon the defendant's dependents will not cause such dependents to be dependent on public welfare, in addition to any other penalty, order the defendant to pay a fine, commensurate with the offense committed and with the probable impact upon the victim, but not to exceed $10,000.  The fine shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Crimes Compensation Trust Fund.

(2) The additional $50 obligation created by s. 938.03 shall be collected, and $49 of each $50 collected shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue for deposit in the Crimes Compensation Trust Fund, prior to any fine or surcharge authorized by this chapter.  These costs are considered assessed unless specifically waived by the court.  If the court does not order these costs, it shall state on the record, in detail, the reasons therefor.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Florida Statutes Title XLVI. Crimes § 775.0835. Fines;  surcharges;  Crimes Compensation Trust Fund - last updated January 01, 2019 | https://codes.findlaw.com/fl/title-xlvi-crimes/fl-st-sect-775-0835.html


FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard