Delaware Code Title 11. Crimes and Criminal Procedure § 4206. Sentence for misdemeanors
Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
Search Delaware Codes
Search by Keyword or Citation
(a) The sentence for a class A misdemeanor may include up to 1 year incarceration at Level V and such fine up to $2,300, restitution or other conditions as the court deems appropriate.
(b) The sentence for a class B misdemeanor may include up to 6 months incarceration at Level V and such fine up to $1,150, restitution or other conditions as the court deems appropriate.
(c) The sentence for an unclassified misdemeanor shall be a definite sentence fixed by the court in accordance with the sentence specified in the law defining the offense. If no sentence is specified in such law, the sentence may include up to 30 days incarceration at Level V and such fine up to $575, restitution or other conditions as the court deems appropriate. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in any municipality with a population greater than 50,000 people, any offense under the building, housing, health or sanitation code which is classified therein as a misdemeanor, the sentence for any person convicted of such a misdemeanor offense shall include the following fines and may include restitution or such other conditions as the court deems appropriate:
(1) For the first conviction: no less than $250, nor more than $1,000;
(2) For the second conviction for the same offense; no less than $500, nor more than $2,500; and
(3) For all subsequent convictions for the same offense: no less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000.
In any municipality with a population greater than 50,000 people, a conviction for a misdemeanor offense, which is defined as a “continuing” or “ongoing” violation, shall be considered a single conviction for the purposes of paragraphs (c)(1)--(3) of this section. For all convictions subsequent to the second, the minimum fines required herein shall not be suspended, but such amounts imposed over the minimum may be suspended or subject to such other conditions as the court deems appropriate. The provisions of this subsection relating to municipalities with a population greater than 50,000 people shall not apply to offenses or convictions involving single family residences that are occupied by an owner of the property.
(d) The court may suspend any sentence imposed under this section for probation or any of the other sanctions set forth in § 4204 of this title.
(e) Any term of Level V incarceration imposed under this section must be served in its entirety at Level V, reduced only for earned “good time” as set forth in § 4381 of this title.
(f) No term of Level V incarceration imposed under this section shall be served in other than a full custodial Level V institutional setting unless such term is suspended by the court for such other level sanction.
(g) The Department of Correction, the remainder of this section notwithstanding, may house Level V inmates at a Level IV work release center or halfway house during the last 180 days of their sentence; provided, however, that the first 5 days of any sentence to Level V, not suspended by the court, must be served at Level V.
(h) The Department of Correction, the remainder of this section notwithstanding, may grant Level V inmates 48-hour furloughs during the last 120 days of their sentence to assist in their adjustment to the community.
(i) Any sentence for issuing a worthless check pursuant to § 900 of this title shall require restitution to the person to whom the check was given. For the purposes of this subsection, restitution shall mean the amount for which the check was written plus a service fee of $30 for processing a worthless check, or a fee of $50 if more than 1 check by same person was processed.
(j) In all sentences for less than 1 year the court may order that more than 5 days be served in Level V custodial setting before the Department may place the offender in Level IV custody.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Delaware Code Title 11. Crimes and Criminal Procedure § 4206. Sentence for misdemeanors - last updated January 01, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/de/title-11-crimes-and-criminal-procedure/de-code-sect-11-4206.html
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.
Was this helpful?