Skip to main content

California Code, Labor Code - LAB § 5402

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) Knowledge of an injury, obtained from any source, on the part of an employer, his or her managing agent, superintendent, foreman, or other person in authority, or knowledge of the assertion of a claim of injury sufficient to afford opportunity to the employer to make an investigation into the facts, is equivalent to service under Section 5400 .

(b) If liability is not rejected within 90 days after the date the claim form is filed under Section 5401 , the injury shall be presumed compensable under this division.  The presumption of this subdivision is rebuttable only by evidence discovered subsequent to the 90-day period.

(c) Within one working day after an employee files a claim form under Section 5401 , the employer shall authorize the provision of all treatment, consistent with Section 5307.27 , for the alleged injury and shall continue to provide the treatment until the date that liability for the claim is accepted or rejected.  Until the date the claim is accepted or rejected, liability for medical treatment shall be limited to ten thousand dollars ($10, 000).

(d) Treatment provided under subdivision (c) shall not give rise to a presumption of liability on the part of the employer.

Cite this article: - California Code, Labor Code - LAB § 5402 - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard