Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
(a)?In lieu of the fines specified in subdivisions (c), (d), (e), and (g) of Section 1424, fines imposed on skilled nursing facilities or intermediate care facilities, as specified in paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 1418, shall be as follows:
(1)?A class ?AA? citation is subject to a civil penalty in an amount not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) and not exceeding one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for each and every citation. ?For a second or subsequent class ?AA? citation in a skilled nursing facility or intermediate care facility within a 24-month period, the state department shall commence action to suspend or revoke the facility's license in accordance with Section 1294.
(2)?A class ?A? citation is subject to a civil penalty in an amount not less than two thousand dollars ($2,000) and not exceeding twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) for each and every citation.
(3)?Any ?willful material falsification? or ?willful material omission,? as those terms are defined in subdivision (f) of Section 1424, in the health record of a resident is subject to a civil penalty in an amount not less than two thousand dollars ($2,000) and not exceeding twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) for each and every citation.
(4)?A class ?B? citation is subject to a civil penalty in an amount not less than one hundred dollars ($100) and not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000) for each and every citation. ?Class ?B? violations are violations that the state department determines have a direct or immediate relationship to the health, safety, or security of long-term health care facility patients or residents, other than class ?AA? or ?A? violations. ?Unless otherwise determined by the state department to be a class ?A? violation pursuant to this chapter and rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto, any violation of a patient's rights as set forth in Sections 72527 and 73523 of Title 22 of the California Code of Regulations, that is determined by the state department to cause, or under circumstances to be likely to cause, significant humiliation, indignity, anxiety, or other emotional trauma to a patient is a class ?B? violation. ?A class ?B? citation shall specify the time within which the violation is required to be corrected. ?If the state department establishes that a violation occurred, the licensee shall have the burden of proving that the licensee did what might reasonably be expected of a long-term health care facility licensee, acting under similar circumstances, to comply with the regulation. ?If the licensee sustains this burden, then the citation shall be dismissed.
(b)?A licensee may, in lieu of contesting a class ?AA? or class ?A? citation pursuant to Section 1428, transmit to the state department, the minimum amount specified by law, or 65 percent of the amount specified in the citation, whichever is greater, for each violation, within 30 business days after the issuance of the citation.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - California Code, Health and Safety Code - HSC § 1424.5 - last updated January 01, 2019 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ca/health-and-safety-code/hsc-sect-1424-5.html
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.