Skip to main content

Alabama Code Title 40. Revenue and Taxation § 40-7-32

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

The assessor shall be entitled to a fee for making returns of property which has escaped taxation of $5 for each assessment provided if the escape is for more than one year, all back years shall be made on one assessment blank, and the current year's escape on a separate assessment for which he shall be entitled to an additional fee of $5, such fee to be added to and collected with taxes due. In case of lands lying in one body, other than lands platted and subdivided into lots, the return shall be made on said lands as a whole, unless the assessor has reason to believe that they belong to different owners, in which case when lands lying in one body and supposed to belong to the same owner, must be included in one return, and no fee shall be allowed the assessor for any return made in disregard of this provision, but the assessment of any such property thereafter made shall not for that reason be invalid.

Cite this article: - Alabama Code Title 40. Revenue and Taxation § 40-7-32 - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard