Skip to main content

Alabama Code Title 35. Property § 35-11-371

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) In order to perfect such lien the operator of such hospital, before or within 10 days after such person shall have been discharged therefrom shall file in the office of the judge of probate of the county or counties in which such cause of action arose a verified statement setting forth the name and address of such patient, as it shall appear on the records of such hospital, the name and location of such hospital and the name and address of the operator thereof, the dates of admission and discharge of such patient therefrom, the amount claimed to be due for such hospital care, and to the best of claimant's knowledge, the names and addresses of all persons, firms, or corporations claimed by such injured person, or the legal representative of such person, to be liable for damages arising from such injuries;  such claimant shall also within one day after the filing of such claim or lien, mail a copy thereof by registered or certified mail, postage prepaid, for each person, firm, or corporation so claimed to be liable on account of such injuries, at the addresses so given in such statement, and to the patient, his guardian, or his personal representative at the address given at the time of admission.  The filing of such claim or lien shall be notice thereof to all persons, firms, or corporations liable for such damages whether or not they are named in such claim or lien.

(b) The judge of probate shall endorse thereon the date and hour of filing, and at the expense of the county shall provide a hospital lien book with proper index in which he shall enter the date and hour of such filing, the names and addresses of such hospital, the operators thereof and of such patient, the amount claimed and the names and addresses of those claimed to be liable for damages.  Such information shall be recorded in the name of the patient.  The judge of probate shall be paid $1.00 as his fee for such filing.

Cite this article: - Alabama Code Title 35. Property § 35-11-371 - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard