Alabama Code Title 34. Professions and Businesses § 34-27-33
Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
Search Code of Alabama
Search by Keyword or Citation
(a)(1) In addition to other requirements of this chapter, every applicant for a broker's or salesperson's license shall submit to a reasonable written examination. The commission shall conduct examinations at places and times it prescribes. The commission may contract with an independent testing agency to prepare, grade, or conduct the examination.
(2) Effective October 1, 2001, and thereafter, the fee for each examination and the provisions for payment and forfeiture shall be as specified in the contract with the independent testing agency.
(b) Within 90 days after passing the examination, the applicant shall secure a qualifying broker and meet all requirements of this chapter and the board shall issue an active license or classify the license as inactive. In order to obtain an active license, the applicant's qualifying broker shall sign and submit to the commission a sworn statement that the applicant is in his or her opinion honest, trustworthy, and of good reputation and that the broker accepts responsibility for the actions of the salesperson as set out in Section 34-27-31. The applicant's qualifying broker shall be licensed in Alabama.
(c)(1) On passing the examination and complying with all other conditions for licensure, a temporary license certificate shall be issued to the applicant. The applicant is not licensed until he or she or his or her qualifying broker actually receives the temporary license certificate. A temporary license shall be valid only for a period of one year following the first day of the month after its issuance.
(2) The holder of a temporary license shall not be issued an original license until he or she has satisfactorily completed a 30-hour post-license course prescribed by the commission. The holder of a temporary license must complete the course within six months of issuance of his or her temporary license and have his or her original license issued, otherwise his or her temporary license certificate shall automatically be placed on inactive status by the commission. During the remaining six months his or her temporary license is valid, the holder of a temporary license may complete the course and have his or her original license issued. If the holder of a temporary license does not complete the course and have his or her original license issued within one year following the first day of the month after its issuance, the temporary license shall automatically expire and lapse. A temporary license is not subject to renewal procedures in this chapter and may not be renewed.
(3) In order to have a temporary license issued to active status, the applicant shall pay the Recovery Fund fee specified in this chapter. The holder of a temporary license shall, upon satisfactory completion of the course, pay the original license fee specified in this chapter to have his or her original license issued. An applicant for an original license who has paid the Recovery Fund fee specified in this chapter shall not be required to pay another Recovery Fund fee in order to have his or her original license issued.
(4) The holder of an original license who has satisfactorily completed the postlicense course and whose original license has been issued, shall not be subject to the continuing education requirements in this chapter for the first renewal of his or her original license.
(d) This section shall become effective for licenses issued beginning October 1, 1993.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Alabama Code Title 34. Professions and Businesses § 34-27-33 - last updated December 30, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/al/title-34-professions-and-businesses/al-code-sect-34-27-33/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.
Was this helpful?