Skip to main content

Alabama Code Title 3. Animals § 3-5-13

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

If the owner or his agent shall not, when he has made no bond, reclaim his livestock or animal within 24 hours after the judge of the district court shall have ascertained such damages, then the judge of the district court shall order the same sold by a constable of the precinct or by someone appointed to act as such or by the sheriff or his deputy or by the law enforcement officer of a municipality. Such officer, upon the making of such order, shall sell the same upon giving five days' notice of such sale by publication one time in a newspaper published in the county, said notice to contain a brief description of the livestock or animal to be sold and the time and place of sale. But out of the proceeds such officer shall pay the costs and expenses and damages due the plaintiff and the expenses of taking up, keeping and caring for such livestock or animal, and the balance must be paid to the owner of such livestock or animal, if known, and if not known, then into the county treasury or the treasury of the municipality. The officer making the sale shall be entitled to $1.00 for making such sale and posting the notices.

Cite this article: - Alabama Code Title 3. Animals § 3-5-13 - last updated December 30, 2022 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard