Skip to main content

Alabama Code Title 28. Intoxicating Liquor, Malt Beverages, and Wine § 28-4A-2

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) Notwithstanding Section 1568.061, in the event of a sale of a licensed residential care for persons with chronic, life-threatening illness facility where the sale will result in a new license being issued, the sale and transfer of property and business shall be subject to both of the following:

(1) The licensee shall provide written notice to the department and to each resident or his or her legal representative of the licensee's intent to sell the facility at least 60 days prior to the transfer of property or business, or at the time that a bona fide offer is made, whichever period is longer.

(2) The licensee shall, prior to entering into an admission agreement, inform all residents, or their legal representatives, admitted to the facility after notification to the department, of the licensee's intent to sell the property or business.

(b) Except as provided in subdivision (e), the property and business shall not be transferred until the buyer qualifies for a license or provisional license pursuant to this chapter.

(1) The seller shall notify, in writing, a prospective buyer of the necessity to obtain a license, as required by this chapter, if the buyer's intent is to continue operating the facility as a residential care facility for the chronically ill. The seller shall send a copy of this written notice to the licensing agency.

(2) The prospective buyer shall submit an application for a license, as specified in Section 1568.04, within five days of the acceptance of the offer by the seller.

(c) No transfer of the property or business shall be permitted until 60 days have elapsed from the date when notice has been provided to the department pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a).

(d) The department shall give priority to applications for licensure that are submitted pursuant to this section in order to ensure timely transfer of the property and business. The department shall make a decision within 60 days after a complete application is submitted on whether to issue a license pursuant to Section 1568.04.

(e) If the parties involved in the transfer of the property and business fully comply with this section, then the transfer may be completed and the buyer shall not be considered to be operating an unlicensed facility while the department makes a final determination on the application for licensure.

Cite this article: - Alabama Code Title 28. Intoxicating Liquor, Malt Beverages, and Wine § 28-4A-2 - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard