Skip to main content

Alabama Code Title 17. Elections § 17-14-2

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

General elections throughout the state shall be held for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Auditor, Secretary of State, Treasurer, Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, three public service commissioners, no two of whom shall be elected from the same congressional district, Chief Justice and associate justices of the Supreme Court, judges of the courts of appeals, electors for President and Vice President of the United States, United States senators, and such other officers as may be required by law to be elected by the voters of the entire state;  for a member of Congress in each congressional district;  judges of the circuit court in each judicial circuit;  judges of the district courts in each district;  district attorneys in each judicial circuit;  a senator in each senatorial district;  a representative in the Legislature in each house district;  a judge of the probate court, sheriff, clerks of the circuit courts, tax assessor, tax collector, a county treasurer in counties of more than 56,000 population, as provided by law, coroner, and members of the county commission in each county, and constables in each precinct of the county.

Cite this article: - Alabama Code Title 17. Elections § 17-14-2 - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard