Skip to main content

Alabama Code Title 17. Elections § 17-14-1

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

The following officers in this state shall be elected by the qualified electors thereof:  Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Auditor, Secretary of State, Treasurer, Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, public service commissioners, senators and representatives in the Legislature, Chief Justice and associate justices of the Supreme Court, judges of the courts of appeals, circuit courts, and district courts, district attorneys, judges of the probate court, sheriffs, coroners, clerks of the circuit courts, tax assessors, tax collectors, county treasurers in counties of more than 56,000 population, as provided by law, members of county commissions, constables, representatives in Congress, United States senators, electors for President and Vice President of the United States, and such other officers as may be required by law to be elected by the people, when not otherwise specially provided for.

Cite this article: - Alabama Code Title 17. Elections § 17-14-1 - last updated December 30, 2022 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard