Alaska Statutes Title 28. Motor Vehicles § 28.15.271. Fees

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) The fees for drivers' licenses and permits, including renewals, and all related driver skills tests are as follows:

(1) all noncommercial vehicles and motor-driven cycles

(A) each license fee

(B) each driver skills test

(2) all commercial motor vehicles

(A) each license fee

(B) each driver skills test

(3) instruction permit

(4) duplicate of driver's license or instruction permit

(5) temporary license and renewal of permit

(6) school bus driver's endorsement renewal

(b) In addition to the fees under (a) of this section,

(1) a person who renews a driver's license by mail shall pay a fee of $1;

(2) a person who applies for a limited driver's license under AS 28.15.201 shall pay a fee of $100;  

(3) a person who applies for reinstatement of a driver's license under AS 28.15.211 shall pay a fee of

(A) $100 if the person's driver's license has, within the 10 years preceding the application, been suspended, revoked, or limited under the provisions of this chapter, except as provided by (C) of this paragraph, only once;

(B) $250 if the person's driver's license has, within the 10 years preceding the application, been suspended, revoked, or limited under the provisions of this chapter, except as provided by (D) of this paragraph, two or more times;

(C) $200 if the person's driver's license has, within the 10 years preceding the application, been revoked under AS 28.35.030 or 28.35.032 only once;  or

(D) $500 if the person's driver's license has, within the 10 years preceding the application, been revoked under AS 28.35.030 or 28.35.032 two or more times;  and

(4) a person who applies for a driver's license that is federally compliant shall pay a fee of $20.

(c) The fee for a driver skills test must be paid at the time an appointment for the skills test is made or before the skills test is given, whichever is earlier.  The department may not refund a driver skills test fee if the applicant cancels the appointment, fails to appear at the appointed day and time, or fails to pass the skills test.

(d) Repealed.

(e) The department shall charge $50 for issuance of a new license to replace a license cancelled under AS 28.15.161(a)(5) because the person is restricted from purchasing alcoholic beverages under AS 04.16.160 .

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Alaska Statutes Title 28. Motor Vehicles § 28.15.271. Fees - last updated April 21, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ak/title-28-motor-vehicles/ak-st-sect-28-15-271.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard