Alaska Statutes Title 16. Fish and Game § 16.05.390. Fees and compensation for issuance of licenses, permits, and tags
Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
Search Alaska Statutes
Search by Keyword or Citation
(a) Except as provided in (e) of this section, an agent appointed by the commissioner under AS 16.05.380 to sell licenses, permits, and tags is entitled to
(1) retain five percent of the fee that is charged for a license, permit, or tag or 25 cents for each license, permit, or tag sold, whichever is greater; and
(2) compensation of $50 per year or $1 for each license, permit, or tag sold during the year, whichever is greater.
(b) Each agent appointed to sell licenses, permits, or tags under AS 16.05.380 shall, as directed by the commissioner, transmit the proceeds from the sales of licenses, permits, and tags, except the amount authorized to be retained under (a)(1) of this section, together with a report of the sales, to the commissioner for deposit in the fish and game fund or the general fund.
(c) On March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 of each year the commissioner shall calculate the compensation earned by an agent under (a)(2) of this section, minus the penalties assessed under (g) of this section. If the compensation due exceeds $50, the commissioner shall pay the compensation not later than 30 days after the date for which the compensation was calculated. If the compensation due is $50 or less, the commissioner shall pay the compensation not later than January 30 of the year following the year in which the compensation was earned. The commissioner shall pay compensation only for sales of licenses, permits, or tags for which the commissioner has received the report and proceeds required to be transmitted under (b) of this section.
(d) Compensation provided by this section shall be paid from appropriations made to the department.
(e) The provisions of (a) of this section do not apply to a state employee appointed by the commissioner under AS 16.05.380 to sell licenses, permits, and tags.
(f) Proceeds and reports under (b) of this section shall be transmitted to the commissioner by the last day of the month following the month in which the licenses, permits, and tags are sold, unless an alternative reporting schedule has been established by contract.
(g) The commissioner may assess a penalty against an agent who does not transmit proceeds within the time allowed under (f) of this section. The penalty is equal to one and one-half percent of the amount of proceeds due. The penalty may be assessed for each month or portion of a month that the proceeds are delinquent. A penalty under this subsection shall be withheld from the agent's compensation under (a)(2) of this section.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Alaska Statutes Title 16. Fish and Game § 16.05.390. Fees and compensation for issuance of licenses, permits, and tags - last updated January 01, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ak/title-16-fish-and-game/ak-st-sect-16-05-390.html
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.
Was this helpful?