Rhode Island General Laws Title 31. Motor and Other Vehicles § 31-11-10. Reinstatement after revocation or suspension
Search Rhode Island General Laws
(a) Any person whose license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle on the public highways has been revoked or suspended shall not be entitled to have a license or privilege renewed or restored unless the revocation or suspension was for a cause which has been removed. After the expiration of the term of the revocation or suspension he or she may apply to be restored to his or her right to drive, but the division of motor vehicles shall not grant the application unless and until it is satisfied after investigation of the driving ability of the person that it will be safe to license him or her to drive a motor vehicle on the public highways and it has received a reinstatement fee of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150.00). The reinstatement fee and assessment fee shall not be required by any person whose license was suspended on the basis of physical or mental fitness and who has later been declared competent to operate a motor vehicle.
(b) Any person whose license has been suspended on the basis of physical or mental fitness shall have the right to request review at any time of the suspension determination in accordance with the hearing procedures of § 31-11-7(d) -- (f).
(c) If the license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle on the public highways has been revoked or suspended as a result of a violation of §§ 31-27-2, 31-27-2.1, 31-27-2.2 or 31-27-2.6 the reinstatement fee shall be three hundred and fifty ($350.00) dollars.
FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.