Montana Title 61. Motor Vehicles § 61-8-410. Operation of vehicle by person under 21 years of age with alcohol concentration of 0.02 or more
Search Montana Code Annotated
(1) It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 who has an alcohol concentration of 0.02 or more to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle upon ways of this state open to the public. Absolute liability, as provided for in 45-2-104, is imposed for a violation of this section.
(2) Upon a first conviction under this section, a person shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500.
(3) Upon a second conviction under this section, a person shall be punished by a fine of not less than $200 or more than $500 and, if the person is 18 years of age or older, by incarceration for not more than 10 days.
(4) Upon a third or subsequent conviction under this section, a person shall be punished by a fine of not less than $300 or more than $500 and, if the person is 18 years of age or older, by incarceration for not less than 24 consecutive hours or more than 60 days.
(5) In addition to the punishment provided in this section, regardless of disposition:
(a) the person shall comply with the chemical dependency education course and chemical dependency treatment provisions in 61-8-732 as ordered by the court; and
(b) the department shall suspend the person's driver's license for 90 days upon the first conviction, 6 months upon the second conviction, and 1 year upon the third or subsequent conviction. A restricted or probationary driver's license may not be issued during the suspension period until the person has paid a license reinstatement fee in accordance with 61-2-107 and, if the person was under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, has completed at least 30 days of the suspension period.
(6) A conviction under this section may not be counted as a prior conviction under 61-8-401 or 61-8-406.
FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.