Alabama Code Title 32. Motor Vehicles and Traffic § 32-6-19
Search Code of Alabama
(a)(1) Any person whose driver's or chauffeur's license issued in this or another state or whose driving privilege as a nonresident has been cancelled, denied, suspended, or revoked as provided in this article and who drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of this state while his or her license or privilege is cancelled, denied, suspended, or revoked shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500), and in addition thereto may be imprisoned for not more than 180 days. In addition to all fines, fees, costs, and punishments prescribed by law, there shall be imposed or assessed an additional penalty of fifty dollars ($50) to be placed in the Traffic Safety Trust Fund and the Peace Officers Standards and Training Fund. Also, at the discretion of the Director of Public Safety, the person's license may be revoked for an additional revocation period of six months.
(2) The additional penalty of fifty dollars ($50) shall be assessed in all criminal and quasi-criminal proceedings in municipal, district, and circuit courts, including, but not limited to, final bond forfeitures, municipal ordinances violations, wherein the defendant is adjudged guilty or pleads guilty and in all juvenile delinquency and youthful offender adjudications.
(3) If the fifty dollar ($50) penalty required by subdivision (1) is not imposed by the court, the clerk of the court shall automatically assess it upon conviction.
(b) Notwithstanding any provision of law, any person who operates a motor vehicle upon the highways of this state while his or her driver's license or driving privilege is revoked for any reason under the laws of this state or similar laws of any other state or territory, or while his or her driver's license or driving privilege is suspended as a consequence of a DUI-related offense, including, but not limited to, being adjudicated delinquent or a youthful offender based on a DUI-related offense, or while his or her driver's license or driving privilege is suspended as a result of failure to comply with the implied consent law of this state or laws of another state, or who has been adjudicated a delinquent child or a youthful offender based on an offense that if the person had been an adult would have been a conviction of driving under the influence of a controlled substance or alcohol or failure to comply with the implied consent law, shall be immediately removed from the vehicle. The vehicle, regardless of ownership or possessory interest of the operator or person present in the vehicle, except when the owner of the vehicle or another family member of the owner is present in the vehicle and presents a valid driver's license, shall be impounded by any duly sworn law enforcement officer. If there is an emergency or medical necessity jeopardizing life or limb, the law enforcement officer may elect not to impound the vehicle.
(c)(1) The law enforcement officer making the impoundment shall direct an approved towing service to tow the vehicle to the garage of the towing service, storage lot, or other place of safety and maintain custody and control of the vehicle until the registered owner or authorized agent of the registered owner claims the vehicle by paying all reasonable and customary towing and storage fees for the services of the towing company. The vehicle shall then be released to the registered owner or an agent of the owner.
(2) Any towing service or towing company removing the vehicle at the direction of the law enforcement officer in accordance with this section shall have a lien on the motor vehicle for all reasonable and customary fees relating to the towing and storage of the motor vehicle. This lien shall be subject and subordinate to all prior security interests and other liens affecting the vehicle whether evidenced on the certificate of title or otherwise. Notice of any sale or other proceedings relative to this lien shall be given to the holders of all prior security interest or other liens by official service of process at least 15 days prior to any sale or other proceedings.
Read this complete Alabama Code Title 32. Motor Vehicles and Traffic § 32-6-19 on Westlaw
FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.